In Texas, you must (by law) carry at least $30,000 in liability insurance on your vehicle. Unfortunately, even though carrying liability insurance is state law, not everyone has it or - if they do have it - they might not be carrying enough.
Thirty thousand dollars in liability coverage may sound like a lot of money initially, but accident costs can accumulate into the hundreds of thousands – fast.
What If the Person Who Hit You Doesn't Have Enough Insurance to Cover Your Damages?
Let’s say your injuries cost more than the other driver’s policy limits. Do you have any options? If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist protection, you do.
Working as a personal injury lawyer in Fort Worth for the past 20 years, I can tell you that there's no better insurance to carry. Why? Because uninsured motorist coverage comes to the rescue in situations just like this one. It protects you from people who either don't own or don't have enough liability insurance to cover your damages.
What If I Don't Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage and I'm Hit By an Uninsured Driver?
Unfortunately, if you are involved in an accident caused by an irresponsible driver who is either underinsured or uninsured, you have very limited options. Fortunately, lots of drivers have Uninsured Motorist Coverage and don’t even realize it – check your coverage to see if you're one of them.
If you need help with a claim against an underinsured motorist in Fort Worth, please don't hesitate to contact me. It's free to set up a consultation and ask questions.
Other Articles You Might Be Interested In:
Making a Claim Against All Insurance Policies Available
How To Interpret a Crash Report After Your Texas Car Accident
Money Matters: Long-Term Financial Debt as a Result of Being Injured in an Accident
The Insurance Adjuster Might Seem Nice… But They’re Not!
A Step-By-Step Guide: What You Should Do After a Car Crash