What Are The Insurance Requirements For Commercial Trucks

There are certain state and federal laws that govern how much insurance coverage a motor vehicle must carry. In Texas the state law is that passenger vehicles must carry at least $30,000 in coverage to cover each person with a limit of $60,000 per accident. What that means if five people are injured in the accident, the most that particular policy will pay out is $60,000 and the most that any one person can get is $30,000 – these are what we call the minimum limits.

There are also federal laws which govern interstate commercial trucks that require them to carry $750,000 in insurance coverage. This may sound like a lot of money and it is, but these trucks with their speed and weight cause catastrophic damage when they are involved in wrecks.

Mark A. Anderson
Board Certified Personal Injury Lawyer in Fort Worth, Texas