In Texas, it’s illegal to drive a car without liability insurance. However, it’s estimated that 25 percent of drivers in the Dallas-Fort Worth area don’t have the proper insurance, meaning that if you’re in a wreck, there’s a one in four chance that the other driver is uninsured.
So what happens if the driver who hit you doesn’t have insurance? Don’t panic. You do have options.
At Anderson Injury Lawyers, our skilled car accident attorneys have experience handling cases with uninsured drivers. When you hire our firm, we will thoroughly investigate the accident,identify who should be held accountable,and help you pursue compensation for the crash. To schedule a free, initial case consultation, call us today at 817-294-1900, or reach out online.
We Increased Offer from $900 to $72,000 for Car Wreck Victim
Answer These Three Questions FirstAre You Sure the Other Driver Doesn't Have Insurance?
If they give you an expired insurance card at the scene of the accident, don't jump to conclusions. Write their information down and contact their insurance company anyway. It may just be that they haven't updated their information yet. Even if the insurance company confirms that this individual no longer holds a policy with them, they may still have insurance elsewhere.Do You Have UM/UIM Motorist Coverage?
If you're certain that the at-fault driver doesn't have insurance, it's time to review your own insurance. By law, every insurance company must offer you uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage (also known as UM or UIM). You have the option of opting out when you sign up with a new insurance company, but it's advisable have this kind of coverage. It costs a little extra, but if you're ever in a situation where you need it, you'll be really grateful that you have it.
If you have UM, you and your lawyer can pursue a claim for compensation to cover any medical bills related to the accident, compensation for missed work as a result of the accident or your injuries, etc. Your lawyer can also fight to seek damages to compensate you for the pain and suffering you've endured.
Need to speak to an attorney about your claim? The Anderson Injury Lawyers is standing by. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.Were You Involved in a Hit and Run Accident?
If so, you'll also need to use your uninsured motorist coverage.
What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is insurance that you buy with the intention of protecting yourself if you are hit by a negligent driver who doesn’t have insurance, or if you're involved in a hit and run.
Sadly, despite the fact that the law in Texas requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $30,000 in auto liability insurance, the reality is that around 25 percent of all Texas motorists are uninsured. Having UM, however, means that you and your lawyer still have the ability to make a claim (against your own insurance company) even if you are hit and injured by someone who doesn’t have any insurance.
Specifically, What Counts As "Uninsured?"
Here's a description of what constitutes an uninsured vehicle under Texas law. A driver who does not have any of the following:
- Bodily injury liability insurance
- Property damage liability insurance
- Enough insurance to fully compensate another driver after an accident
- Insurance exists but the negligent driver’s insurance company legally denied coverage
- Insurance exists but the liable insurance company is unable to pay due for some reason
A vehicle may also be considered to be “uninsured” in cases where the at-fault owner or operator of the vehicle is unknown or cannot be determined. In such situations, it is possible to make a claim against one’s own uninsured motorist coverage in a hit-and-run accident, if the injured party has uninsured motorist coverage.
Do I Need Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Texas?
This kind of insurance is not required by law in Texas. However, I highly recommend that every driver carries UM. In Texas, it's estimated that 25 percent of drivers aren't covered by insurance (yes, that's illegal! People do it anyway). If you're in a wreck with someone who doesn't have insurance and you aren't carrying UM, you're out of luck.
If you have questions about a specific case, please don't hesitate to give me a call. I'm available at any hour at 817-717-4731, and it doesn't cost anything to ask questions or schedule a consultation.
Uninsured Motorist Covers You Even If the Other Driver Has Insurance
Even if the other driver has insurance, sometimes it's not enough.
For example, if a driver crashes their car into yours and it turns out that they only have the state minimum of $30,000 in liability insurance coverage, but your medical bills amount to $40,000, you can use your UM to cover the missing $10,000, plus money for your lost wages, pain and suffering.
You might feel reluctant to make a claim against your own insurance company. This is understandable. However, I always tell my clients that if you’re paying for UM, you should use it. Your insurance company is NOT allowed to raise your rates based solely on this type of claim, so that’s one more reason to do it.
How to Use Uninsured Motorist Insurance in Texas
In situations where you need to make a claim against an uninsured motorists policy, your own insurance company takes the role of the at-fault motorist's insurance company. You would make a claim against them in the same way you would usually make a claim against another person's insurance company.
Unfortunately, making these kinds of claims can be stressful since insurance companies - no matter whether they're someone else's or your own - aren't eager to pay out lots of money in claims. You might be surprised to find that the company you've been paying premiums to all these years suddenly doesn't want to keep up their end of the bargain. For this reason, it's always a good idea to set up a consultation with your attorney to discuss the value of your case.
How Much Money Is Your UM Claim Worth?
When you file a claim against your own UM insurance coverage, it's just like filing a claim against another driver's insurance. The amount your claim is worth depends on many different factors, including how badly you were injured and if you can prove fault.
The Anderson Injury Lawyers knows how frustrating it can be when an injured victim of a car accident finds out the person at-fault was UM/UIM. We know that starting the claims process can be tricky, which is why we are here to help. If you have any questions, please feel free and contact our office today.
Who Needs to Hire a Lawyer?
If you've never hired a lawyer before, you might be wondering, "What will an attorney do for me? Do I even need one?" You will benefit from hiring a lawyer if you:
- Were hurt in an accident caused by another driver
- Don't have health insurance after a wreck and can't afford to get treatment
- Have never handled a claim before and feel confused about what to do next
- Tried handling the claim on your own but encountered trouble with the insurance adjuster
- Received an unfair settlement offer from the insurance company
- Want a professional to ensure you win everything you deserve to cover the cost of your accident
If you were in an accident that wasn't your fault and suffered injuries as a result, you will benefit from having a personal injury attorney handling your case. The reason is simple. After a wreck, you're going to have to convince the other driver's insurance company to pay you the money you deserve for your medical bills, damaged car, and pain and suffering. However, insurance adjusters are trained to pay you as little money as possible. It's how insurance companies make money.
Having a lawyer on your side evens the playing field. Here at the Anderson Injury Lawyers, we have over 25 years of experience winning money for hurt accident victims in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex. We know exactly how to set up your case, and we handle everything for you.